Meet Our Team

Dedicated to Whole Person Care

Our team of expert physicians, nurses and medical staff is dedicated to offering the highest-quality of whole person care to every patient. Their experience spans multidisciplinary fields in stroke prevention, diagnosis and treatment. We’re ready to help when you need it the most.

Stroke and Vascular Neurology

  • Vincent V. Truong, MD: Medical Director of LLU-Health Comprehensive Stroke Center
  • Bryan Tsao, MD: Chair of Neurology
  • Laura Nist, MD: Associate Chair of Neurology and Residency Program Director
  • Jeffrey Rosenfeld, PhD, MD: Associate Chair of Neurology and Director, Neuromuscular ALS/MND Program
  • Theresa Labarte, DO: Neurologist and Associate Residency Program Director
  • Thomas Bravo, MD: Neurologist
  • Ayesha Sherzai, MD: Stroke and Vascular Neurologist
  • Ricardo Olivo, MD: Neurologist
  • Joanna Yang, RN, BSN, DNP, FNP-BC, ACNP-BC, ANVP-BC
  • Desiree Torsney, MSN, ACNP-BC, CNRN
  • Crest-Anne West, MSN, NP-C, CNRN

Interventional Neuroradiology

Neuro-Critical Care


Vascular Surgery

  • Ahmed M. Abou-Zamzam, Jr., MD: Professor of Cardiovascular and Thoracic Surgery
  • Sharon Kiang, MD: Assistant Professor of Cardiovascular and Thoracic Surgery
  • Sheela Patel, MD: Assistant Professor of Cardiovascular and Thoracic Surgery

Emergency Medicine

  • Lea Walters, MD: Medical Director of Emergency Medicine
  • Dr. Tamara Thomas, MD, Vice-Dean, Academic Affairs, School of Medicine Faculty Development, School of Medicine, Interim Chief and Chair
  • James Moynihan, MS, DO, FAAP: Medical Director, Pediatric Emergency Medicine Director of Quality Improvement, Emergency Medicine Dept. Associate Professor
  • Leslie Duke: Project Coordinator-Stroke
  • Lance Brown, MD, MPH: Vice Chair, Department of Emergency Medicine, Professor of Emergency Medicine and Pediatrics




  • Susan Markovich, RN, BSN, CCRN: Executive Director
  • Joanna Yang, RN, BSN, DNP, FNP-BC, ACNP-BC, ANVP-BC: Stroke Nurse Practitioner and Comprehensive Stroke Program Coordinator
  • Carrie Cobos, RN, BSN, BS: Stroke Educator
  • Cleidi Desouza, RN, BSN: Stroke Program Data Coordinator, Quality and Patient Safety
  • Georgy Liljedahl: Interventional Neuroradiology Coordinator